Turning on Digital Speedo - VY VZ OSE Flash

160 And 8192 Baud Aldl
Ken
Posts: 209
Joined: Tue Dec 17, 2013 1:05 am

Re: Turning on Digital Speedo - VY VZ OSE Flash

Post by Ken »

Apparently the above mentioned dash software is a no-no to talk too much about here on the forum so I wont get into too much
detail regarding it's potential/fucntionality, just mention what I found to work for me.

Firstly, using the wrong version of Common Controls gave me grief regarding functionality.
RuntimeErrors.png
RuntimeErrors.png (74.43 KiB) Viewed 330 times

Secondly, the program has references to cache files that weren't part of it's download.
VB5_OLB.png
COMCTL32_OCA.png
MSCOMM32_OCA.png
Apparently created by msvbvm when needed, though I'm thinking it's if VS is installed.


Thirdly, registering the program with regserver from the run command or command.com
eg:
|<------------Path------------\------File Name--------/
C:\Program Files\VYinsDiag\VyInsXXXXXXXXX.exe /regserver

command.com - Path\----------FileName-----/
C:\Progra~1\VYinsDiag\VyInsXXXXXXXXX.exe /regserver


It's targeted OS is mentioned internally, hence the path to the cache files.
Other.png
User avatar
Tre-Cool
Posts: 318
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2012 12:17 pm
cars: VY SS UTE, VX Drag Car
Location: Perth
Contact:

Re: Turning on Digital Speedo - VY VZ OSE Flash

Post by Tre-Cool »

pman92 wrote: Fri May 03, 2024 8:03 am I'm wondering if it's something to do with some errors I was previously getting about missing files:

- COMCTL32.OCX
- COMDLG32.OCX
- MSCOMM32.OCX

I found them online and placed them in the same folder. But maybe they need to be installed somehow? (I'm really not an expert here).

I might setup a virtual machine and play around until I break something in there
yes you do need those files. i just checked i there are a bunch of additional downloads in the directory to get it working.
libraryfiles.exe 2022-08-27 21:45 5.7M
mscomm32.ocx 2022-08-27 21:45 101K
COMCTL32.OCX 2022-08-27 21:45 229K
Msvbvm50.exe 2022-08-27 21:45 1.2M

i dont think there is any issue with discussing it etc. the cars themselves ended production in 2004 before they shifted to vz. while the app will work with the vz dash it's hit and miss as to what it can do. I've used it to chnge the basic dash cluster boot name etc, but thats about it.
Ken
Posts: 209
Joined: Tue Dec 17, 2013 1:05 am

Re: Turning on Digital Speedo - VY VZ OSE Flash

Post by Ken »

Tre-Cool wrote: Sat May 04, 2024 4:49 pm yes you do need those files. i just checked i there are a bunch of additional downloads in the directory to get it working.
COMCTL32.OCX 2022-08-27 21:45 229K
That one in particular needs to be renamed, caught me out when I first tried using the app, it wouldn't register using regsvr32,
turns out the ".OCX" file extension needs to be renamed to .zip.

This is the header of the file when opened with a hex editor.
Comctl32.png
Comctl32.png (9.62 KiB) Viewed 306 times
Tre-Cool wrote: Sat May 04, 2024 4:49 pm i dont think there is any issue with discussing it etc. the cars themselves ended production in 2004 before they shifted to vz. while the app will work with the vz dash it's hit and miss as to what it can do. I've used it to chnge the basic dash cluster boot name etc, but thats about it.
Yeah I thought that would be the case too, and posted a video showing how using the same username and different password is what
unlocked the different levels, it was immediately deleted and a warning from Antus in a PM advising of it being a problem talking
about it openly.

I forgot to post a fourth step to getting it working in my post above, registering the .OCA cache files using regtlib.

just re-registered them again for the purpose of taking a screen of the outcome for the post here.
RegisterOCA.png
RegisterOCA.png (63.94 KiB) Viewed 306 times
User avatar
Tre-Cool
Posts: 318
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2012 12:17 pm
cars: VY SS UTE, VX Drag Car
Location: Perth
Contact:

Re: Turning on Digital Speedo - VY VZ OSE Flash

Post by Tre-Cool »

lol your right. that is a zip file.

i uploaded the files years ago, so not sure how i managed to fck that up.
User avatar
Knackersjewels
Posts: 44
Joined: Thu May 05, 2022 8:24 pm
cars: 2x VZ alloytec
VY SS L98 ute
Location: Maffra, Vic
Contact:

Re: Turning on Digital Speedo - VY VZ OSE Flash

Post by Knackersjewels »

Is anyone else getting "runtime error 6: overflow" and crashing?
pman92
Posts: 471
Joined: Thu May 03, 2012 10:50 pm
cars: HZ One Tonner
VE Ute
Location: Castlemaine, Vic

Re: Turning on Digital Speedo - VY VZ OSE Flash

Post by pman92 »

I've been playing around with it a bit and wondering if someone may be able to help me understand something.

Whenever I write something to the cluster (change configuration etc.) - there's always a response / error code (I'm assuming that's what it is) of 01 returned.
Immediately after that, the software starts sending messages with a 3rd byte / 1st data byte / mode byte (whatever you wish to call it) of exactly 1 more than whatever was used to do the configuration / write / etc.
The cluster keeps returning 04 multiple times, until eventually it returns 00. That must mean complete / finished / whatever, and the software stops sending anything else.

EG. Writing a configuration option. Mode 20 to do the change, followed by polling the cluster with mode 21:
F2 5A 20 55 00 E4 00 5B
F2 59 20 01 00 E4 B0 <<-response code 01 returned
F2 57 21 00 96
F2 59 21 04 00 E4 AC
F2 57 21 00 96
F2 59 21 04 00 E4 AC
<above 0x21 exchange repeated many times>
F2 57 21 00 96
F2 59 21 00 00 E4 B0
finished


another example, writing the VAP data. Mode 28 to do the change, followed by polling the cluster with mode 29:
F2 65 28 05 <VAP data bytes, same as data table 7>
F2 58 28 05 01 88 <<-response code 01 returned
F2 56 29 8F
F2 58 29 05 04 84
F2 56 29 8F
F2 58 29 05 04 84
<above 0x29 exchange repeated many times>
F2 56 29 8F
F2 58 29 05 00 88

What is this all about?
I've been reading the EERPOM before and after changing things, and it seems polling the cluster after sending the actual command makes no difference - the setting is still changed anyway (even if you don't do it).
VR-VY Holden BCM Simulator: View Post
MrModule.com.au
Post Reply